Is It Ok For a Vegan To Use Real Leather?

is pu leather vegan?

When I started the vegan lifestyle I started because of health because I saw all of these benefits by eating raw fruits and vegetables. Then I later learned about the ethical issues how animals are treated, not only for food but for clothing, beauty products, all kinds of products and for the environment, and how it affects the environment of this industrialization of animals.

I became more conscious of the origin of these products. I have seen videos of how these animals are treated to make leather products and it’s sad they’re tortured, sometimes they are killed and they suffer. it’s so sad ! It honestly breaks my heart, so my initial reaction was to stop purchasing products that contain leather.

The problem is I already had a lot of leather things like shoes, bags, accessories, wallets…And so many other  things that have leather. Over time I’ve stopped using them more and more. Of course at the beginning I was still using them, but as time passed by, I started purchasing products that were not made from leather. There’s more brands coming out with shoes made for vegans and vegetarians, for example StellaStella McCartney is one of my favorites. I buy lots of bags and shoes, they are on the higher end they’re not cheap, but you know they last for a long time. My car is leather, I don’t even think that the leather in my car comes from an animal, I’m not completely sure because I do know that a lot of leather in the cars is synthetic or pu leather . I got this car a few months into being vegan, so I wasn’t very conscious this whole leather thing. I know that for sure the next car that I get, which is gonna be next year  because it’s a lease, it’s not gonna have leather in there.

 What have I done with those things have leather on it ?

A lot of things I’ve slowly started to give them away, it hasn’t been an easy process because it’s like letting go of all these things that I really like, but it’s been years since I haven’t used them, and I’m probably not gonna use them, and so maybe you know someone else can get a better use of them. I also have a lot of shoes and heels that I barely use and that I still have, because I use them like once a year. That way I don’t have to go out and buy other new things.

I don’t feel comfortable wearing leather jackets. It’s just like something that’s super out, that’s just my personal opinion. There’s so many brands out there making faux leather and that you can find for way cheaper and that still have a very cool style , I like Topshop.

What do I think about vegans wearing leather ?

I think that it’s something so personal. Sometimes veganism can be like a religion where there’s rules that you have to follow, and if you don’t follow every single one then you’re not a vegan and you can’t call yourself a vegan. But I feel that I can call myself a vegan because I believe in vegan practices , I believe that it’s better for the planet , the animals and my body. I know that it’s a process, it’s barely been three years and a half and over time you know I’ll just be better and better, but I don’t judge myself in the process either. I have patience with myself, I just try to do the best that I can and over time of it will be easier for me to let go of the things I already have and keep supporting businesses that are creating these vegan products.

Leave a comment